James Eberwine

Dr. Eberwine is the Elmer Holmes Bobst Professor of Systems Pharmacology and Translational Therapeutics at the University of Pennsylvania where he also serves as Co-Director of the PENN Program in Single Cell Biology. He also is Adjunct Professor of Molecular Medicine at The Scripps Research Institute. Dr. Eberwine developed single cell PCR, the aRNA amplification protocol, TIVA in vivo analysis and coined the phrase “expression profile” to describe the relative abundances of RNAs. Dr. Eberwine’s work has highlighted the kinetics of translation in neuronal dendrites, pioneered the concept of cytoplasmic RNA splicing and illuminated the role of RNA populations in establishing and maintaining cellular phenotype. Dr. Eberwine is an inventor on over 170 patent applications and was elected to the National Academy of Inventors in 2014. Dr. Eberwine has organized several international meetings and symposia under the auspices of a variety of entities including the European Molecular Biology Organization and Cold Spring Harbor Labs. Dr. Eberwine has served as a member of the Board of Scientific Counselors for NIDA, is a member of the external Advisory Board for the Institute of Genome Biology of the University Illinois and is a member of the Scientific Advisory Board for the EP Abraham Trust Fund of Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, Oxford University. Dr. Eberwine is on Council for the National Institute for Alcoholism and Alcohol Abuse and a member of the newly formed Multi Council Working Group at NIH, which consults on the Brain Initiative. Dr. Eberwine originated and directed the Cold Spring Harbor Summer Course formerly entitled “Cloning of Neural Genes” and now called “Advanced Techniques in Neuroscience”. Dr. Eberwine has directed or taught in this course 21 times over its’ 31 year history. In 2012, he developed and Co-Directed the first single cell course at Cold Spring Harbor entitled “Single Cell Techniques”.Dr. Eberwine also co-developed the Neuroscience School of Advanced Study Course on Single Cell Analysis. Dr. Eberwine has given many honorary/plenary talks and received various awards including two NARSAD Distinguished Investigator Awards, a MERIT award from NIH, the NIH Pioneer Award, an Ellison Foundation Senior Scholar Award, the McKnight Technological Innovations in Neuroscience Award and the Brain Research Foundation Science Innovation Award.